Donna Strickland + The Trews

We continue to roll on the Spirit Of Radio.

Donna Strickland is a laser jock turned Nobel Laureate. She won the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for her role in the development of chirped pulse amplification in the mid-1980s. This work led to the most intense laser pulses ever created, which are used to machine glass in your cell phone or slice your cornea in laser eye surgery. Strickland, also the the professor of physics at the University of Waterloo, is believed to be the only person awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for a first paper published and the third woman to win the physics prize in 117 years. She joins the ranks of Marie Curie and Maria Goeppert-Mayer. When she was just back from the Nobel Week festivities in Sweden, she stopped by the house to chat with George about her love of the work, the role of light in helping us understand the climate crisis.



The Trews have been a long-standing staple in the tradition of Canadian mainstream rock radio. However, while they were in the middle of crafting a new album with iconic producer Bob Rock — they burned it all down. New producer. New label. New management. They’re also in a position of elder-statesmanship, producing records by the next generation like The Glorious Sons, collaborating with Max Kerman of Arkells. The Antigonish fellas have previously made their mark on our show by testifying to their old tour mates on our HIP30 and collaborating with their sister for our JONI75. This time, they’re bringing their own songs.

It’s four hours of algorithm free, commercial free musical celebration. Come in.


  • AC/DC, “Long Way To The Top”
  • Smokey Robinson, “The Tears Of A Clown”
  • The Chosen Few, “The Tears Of A Clown”
  • Stevie Wonder, “Love Having You Around”
  • Anemone, “Daffodils”
  • Shad, “Magic (Ft. Lido Pimienta)”
  • Vowws, “Structure of Love II (Ft. Chino Moreno) [Renholdër Remix]”
  • Vince Staples, “Home”
  • Sonic Youth, “Bull In The Heather”
  • Fugazi, “Give Me The Cure”
  • Pearl Jam, “Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In A Small Town”
  • The Ninth Wonder, “The Righteous Way To Go”
  • Ice Cube, “Arrest The President”
  • Antony and Cleopatra, “Hurt Like Hell”
  • LP, “Shaken”
  • Little Destroyer, “Bad Cell”
  • The Trews, “Vintage Love (Strombo Sessions)”
  • The Trews, “Bar Star (Strombo Sessions)”
  • Rolling Stones, “Child Of The Moon”
  • Bruce Springsteen, “The River”
  • Tom Petty, “Free Fallin’”
  • Mother Love Bone, “Chloe Dancer / Crown Of Thorns”’
  • Patti Smith, “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
  • X-Ray Spex, “Oh Bondage Up Yours”
  • X-Ray Spex, “Germ Free Adolescents”
  • Tom Waits, “Earth Died Screaming”
  • Bob Dylan, “Isis”
  • Narcy, “Multiply”
  • Guns N’ Roses, “Paradise City”
  • Tom Lehrer, “The Elements”
  • Beastie Boys, “The Sounds Of Science”
  • Daft Punk, “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger”
  • Bob Dylan, “Times They Are A Changin’”
  • Rush, “Natural Science”
  • Barenaked Ladies, “Big Bang Theory”
  • Beat Box Boys, “Einstein”
  • Elvis Presley, “Blue Hawaii”
  • Oingo Boingo, “Weird Science”
  • Sleep, “The Sciences”
  • Carnifex, “Bury Me In Blasphemy”
  • Children Of Bodom, “Under Grass And Clover”
  • Bjork, “Pleasure Is All Mine (Ft. Mike Patton & Rahzel)”
  • Alexandra Streliski, “Plus tot”
  • Lou-Adriane Cassidy, “Ce qu'il reste”
  • John Prine, “Boundless Love”
  • John Prine, “Sam Stone (Strombo Sessions)”
  • John Prine, “Summer’s End (Strombo Sessions)”