Alex Garland, Mount Eerie + Zaki Ibrahim

Alex Garland is the mind that wrote and directed the Academy Award-nominated film, “Ex Machina.” His directorial follow-up is “Annihilation,” an adaptation of Jeff VanderMeer’s trippy mystery that follows four female scientists on an expedition into the abandoned Area X. He visits the House to dive into the making of the film and beyond.

One of the finest records of this past year was crafted by Mount Eerie’s Phil Elverum. His album “A Crow Looked At Me” is a cathartic expression art documenting how he coped with the tragedy of losing his wife, shortly after giving birth to their daughter. He wrote and recorded songs in her work space, with her tools. In conversation with George, Phil shares his process with guitar in hand to recount a few songs from the record.

Zaki Ibrahim recently dropped one of the most-anticipated Canadian albums of the year, “The Secret Life Of Planets.” As the follow-up to her Polaris Prize-nominated debut stokes the fire, she brings her mysticism to the House Of Strombo to discuss birth, mortality, Stevie Wonder and more while performing her new songs and covering Mary J. Blige.

We’ll deliver 3-hours of uninterrupted music for music lovers by music lovers, including a premiere of new music from Adrian Sutherland covering Neil Young, produced by John Angus MacDonald of The Trews.

Magnificent 7

  • 7MorMor, “Heaven’s Only Wishful”
  • 6Khruangbin, “Maria Tambien”
  • 5Hop Along, “How Simple”
  • 4Foundling, “New Years”
  • 3Midnight Shine, “Heart Of Gold (Neil Young Cover)”
  • 2Zaki Ibrahim, "Do The Thing Right"
  • 1Kendrick Lamar, “Black Panther”


  • MorMor, “Heaven’s Only Wishful”
  • Khruangbin, “Maria Tambien”
  • Hop Along, “How Simple”
  • Michel Pagliaro, “Some Sing, Some Dance”
  • Jimmy Smith, “Root Down (And Get It)”
  • Foundling, “New Years”
  • Pharcyde, “Passin’ Me By”
  • Elton John, “Tiny Dancer”
  • Portishead, “Glory Box”
  • Alex Garland In The House
  • Can, “Moonshake”
  • Prodigy, “Firestarter”
  • Wayne Mcghie, “Dirty Funk”
  • Tom Tom Club, “Genius Of Love”
  • Missy Elliott, “Work It”
  • Neil Young, “Razor Love”
  • Midnight Shine, “Heart Of Gold (Neil Young Cover)”
  • Aaron Childs, “Tangerine”
  • Zaki Ibrahim, "Do The Thing Right"
  • Zaki Ibrahim, "Cut Loose (Strombo Sessions)”
  • Zaki Ibrahim, "Cold Feet (Strombo Sessions)”
  • Kendrick Lamar, “Black Panther”
  • Tom Waits, “Another Sucker On The Vine”
  • Tom Waits, “The Heart Of Saturday Night”
  • Frank Sinatra, “In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning"
  • Mount Eerie, "Ravens (Strombo Sessions)”
  • Mount Eerie, "Crow. Pt 2 (Strombo Sessions)”
  • Mount Eerie, "TinTin in Tibet (Strombo Sessions)"
  • Yoko Ono, “Mind Train”
  • Arthur Verocai, “Sylvia”
  • Feist, “Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye”